legal writing, CLE training; workshops in-house seminars, coaching

Can You Receive CLE Credit for an In-House Legal Writing Seminar? 

In many states, MCLE rules allow participants to receive CLE credit for an in-house legal writing seminar.  This chart sets out each state's rules, with contact information and links for each state's MCLE web site. If you have any questions, contact your state's MCLE office.

States from A-M, page 1 | States from N-Z, below.

NE | NV | NH | NJ | NM | NY | NC | ND | OH | OK | OR | PA
RI | SC | SD | TN | TX | UT | VT | VA | WA | WV | WI | WY

 

State MCLE Contact Info

Credit for In-House Seminar? / Provisions

NEBRASKA

Nebraska MCLE Commission
PO Box 98910
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8910
402-471-3137
nsc.mcle@nebraska.gov

Yes. Approval required. Must apply at least 10 days in advance.

Applications accepted from the online system only. To submit your application online, you need a sponsor-user account on Nebraska MCLE Online. Contact the Commission to request a sponsor-user account

Up to 5 hours of the 10 CLE hours required yearly may be obtained from approved in-house CLE programs. In-house activity are given by, for, or to a select private audience, such as a law firm, corporation, government agency, or governmental entity, not open for admission to other members of the legal community generally.

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated July 2010Top of Page

NEVADA

Nevada Board of CLE
Second Floor
457 Court Street
Reno, NV 89501
775-329-4443
775-329-4291 (Fax)
nevadacleboard@sbcglobal.net

Yes.  Approval required.  Must apply at least 30 days in advance (60 days in advance if not an in-house program).

Required:  Open to monitoring by the Board or its representative.

An individual member of the bar desiring approval of a course must apply no later than 60 days following the course.

Application for Course Approval available for download on the CLE website for the State of Nevada.

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated June 2011Top of Page

NEW HAMPSHIRE

New Hampshire MCLE Board
Suite 300
2 Pillsbury Street
Concord, NH 03301-3502
603-224-6942
603-224-2910 (Fax)
mcle@nhbar.org

Yes.  Approval required.  Must apply in advance or within 30 days after the seminar.

Required:  Minimum attendance of 3 lawyers, including the instructor. Maximum of 6 credit hours per year (of the 12 MCLE hours required yearly).

Application for Approval

Attorney Credit Application Form
New Hampshire Bar members can use this form for approval of an individual course if it is not presented by an Annual Sponsor or accredited individually.

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated June 2009Top of Page

NEW JERSEY

Board on CLE
Supreme Court of New Jersey
PO Box 970
Trenton, NJ 08625-0970
609-633-9733
sctcle.mailbox@judiciary.state.nj.us

Street Address:
Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex
8th Floor, North Wing
25 Market Street
Trenton, NJ 08625-0970

Yes. Approval required. Must apply 30 days in advance or within 30 days after the course is presented.

Except for the courses required for newly admitted lawyers, all active lawyers will receive 1:1 credit for courses approved as satisfying the CLE requirements of any other jurisdiction as long as the courses comply with NJ course accreditation restrictions.

Providers must apply for course approval using the on-line computer tracking system. Existing Provder Login

New Provider Registration

Attorney Application Form

50 min. = 1 Credit Hour

Updated February 2014Top of Page

NEW MEXICO

New Mexico MCLE Board
P.O. Box 93070
Albuquerque, NM 87199-3070
505-821-1980
505-821-0220 (Fax)
mcle@nmmcle.org

Yes.  Approval required.  Should apply at least 30 days prior to the seminar.

In-house programs may be approved for MCLE credit under the rules and regulations applicable to any other sponsor. Rules require that faculty include at least one lawyer, judge, or full-time law professor.

Application for Approval

Attorney Individual Application Form
This form is designed for use by members of the New Mexico bar seeking approval for a course not previously approved nor reported by the course provider. Must request credit within 30 days of attending the course.

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated January 2014Top of Page

NEW YORK

New York State CLE Board
Room 888
25 Beaver Street
New York, NY 10004
877-697-4253
212-428-2105
CLE@courts.state.ny.us

Yes. Approval required unless sponsor is an accredited provider or program has been granted hybrid accreditation by the CLE Board.

Attorney Application Form

50 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated February 2014Top of Page

NORTH CAROLINA

North Carolina Continuing Legal Education Department
The North Carolina State Bar
208 Fayetteville Street
PO Box 26148
Raleigh, NC 27611
919-733-0123
919-821-9168 (Fax)

Debra P. Holland
Assistant Director
dholland@ncbar.gov

Yes. Approval required. Non-accredited sponsor should apply at least 45 days prior to program; accredited sponsor should apply at least 30 days prior to program.

A CLE program offered by a sponsor to a law firm will be approved for CLE credit if the program is open to any interested attorney from outside the law firm. The program may be advertised to the wider legal community by placing a notice in the local courthouse or legal journal at least 10 days in advance. The firm may also invite outside attorneys to attend.

Failure to make the program available to outside attorneys will result in denial of CLE credit. The CLE Department may request proof of outside attendance for any law firm program.

The Department may exempt from these requirements those programs that it finds “to be conducted by public or quasi-public organizations or associations for the education of their employees or members.”

Must be open to official observers.

Application for Approval

Attorney Application for CLE Credit

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated July 2009Top of Page

NORTH DAKOTA

North Dakota Commission for CLE
PO Box 2136
Bismarck, ND 58502
800-472-2685
701-255-1404
701-224-1621 (Fax)
info@sband.org

Yes. Approval required.

Required: either (a) outside speakers present the session or (b) the session is advertised and open to the general bar membership.

Application for Approval

Attorney Application for CLE Credit

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated July 2012

OHIO

Commission on CLE
The Supreme Court of Ohio
Fifth Floor
65 South Front Street
Columbus, OH 43215-3431
614-387-9325
614.387.9329 (Fax)
ccle@sc.ohio.gov

 

Yes. Approval required.  Must apply 60 days in advance for Ohio programs ($100 fee for late applications). For pre-approval of out-of-state programs, must apply 60 days in advance; for post-program approval, must apply within 60 days after the program.

Required: outside faculty (one or more speakers). For all but Skills-Based Activities, the program must be open to outside attorneys (25% of available seating made available to outside attendees). Clients are not considered outside attendees. You may apply for a variance from these requirements.

As of January 1, 2014, credit can be awarded for programs during which a meal or food is consumed.

Maximum of 12 credit hours per biennial reporting period. In-house programs are called “Special Programs”.

Application for Approval

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated January 2014Top of Page

OKLAHOMA

MCLE Commission
1901 N. Lincoln Boulevard
PO Box 53036
Oklahoma City, OK 73152
800-522-8065
405-416-7009
405-416-7001 (Fax)
mcle@okbar.org

Yes.  Prior approval required.  Applications must be received at least 45 days prior to the program.

Required:  50% of the program must be presented by outside faculty; if space is available, the seminar must be publicized and there must be reasonable opportunity for outside lawyers to attend.

Application for Approval of In-House Program

50 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated January 2014Top of Page

OREGON

Oregon State Bar MCLE
16037 SW Upper Boones Ferry Road
PO Box 231935
Tigard, OR 97281-1935
800-452-8260, ext. 315
505-620-0222, ext. 315

Denise Cline
MCLE Administrator
dcline@osbar.org

Yes. Approval required.  Must apply before or not more than 30 days after seminar ($40 fee for late applications).

Required:  Open to official audit. 

Application for Approval

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour**

Updated July 2009Top of Page

PENNSYLVANIA

Pennsylvania CLE Board
Pennsylvania Judicial Center
Suite 3400
601 Commonwealth Avenue
PO Box 62495
Harrisburg, PA 17106
800-497-2253
717-231-3250
717-231-3251 (Fax)

Yes.  Must be approved. Should apply prior to the seminar if possible. Retroactive application must be made within two years.

Required:  Outside publicity; open to “all lawyers thought to be interested in the subject matter.”  Note:  The Regulations state that “In-house activities will not be approved for CLE credit,” but “in-house activity” is defined as an educational activity with an “attendance restriction on lawyers . . . not affiliated with the law firm or corporation.”

Application for Approval

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated July 2009Top of Page

RHODE ISLAND

Rhode Island MCLE Commission
Rhode Island Supreme Court
John E. Fogarty Judicial Annex
Third Floor
24 Weybosset Street
Providence, RI 02903
401-222-4942
401-222-4302 (Fax)
mcleinfo@courts.ri.gov

Yes. Approval required. Commission must be notified 30 days in advance.

Required:  Open to in-person monitoring by a Commission member; scheduled at a time and location free of interruptions from phone calls and other office activity.  Maximum of 5 credit hours of the 10 CLE hours required yearly.

Application for Approval

50 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated June 2009Top of Page

SOUTH CAROLINA

Commission on CLE and Specialization
Supreme Court of South Carolina
Suite 120
950 Taylor Street
PO Box 2138
Columbia, SC 29202
803-799-5578
803-799-4118 (Fax)
commcle@bellsouth.net

Yes. Prior approval required. Must apply on or before seminar. Courses must be submitted for approval on a course-by-course rather than an approved-sponsor basis.

Required: All written materials must be filed with application; minimum attendance of 5 lawyers, not including instructors. Not more than one-half of an attorney’s approved credits for any reporting period can be earned through in-house programs.

These requirements and limitations do not apply to public/governmental entities.

Application for Approval

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated July 2009

SOUTH DAKOTA

 

No Mandatory CLE.

Updated July 2012Top of Page

TENNESSEE

Tennessee Comm. on CLE & Specialization
Suite 300
221 Fourth Avenue North
Nashville, TN  37219
615-741-3096
615-532-2477 (Fax)
info@cletn.com

Yes. Approval required. Apply at least 45 days in advance of the program.

Required: Law firm sponsored programs must be open “in some significant manner to a broad spectrum of the bar either in a geographical area or in the field of practice.” Programs limited to in-house counsel for clients will not be accredited.

Governmental departments may offer in-house programs if they are open to all department attorneys in the state and if at least 50% of the approved hours are taught by persons with no continuing relationship or employment with the department.

Request for Credits Earned Out of State, Online or Other Unpaid Credits

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated July 2009Top of Page

TEXAS

MCLE Department
State Bar of Texas
PO Box 13007
Austin, TX 78711-3007
800-204-2222, ext. 1806
512-427-1806
512-427-4423 (Fax)
mcle@texasbar.com

Yes. Prior approval required. Shall be submitted for approval on a course-by-course basis. Must apply at least 30 days prior to the program.

Required: “efforts should be made to achieve a balance of in-house and outside instructors”; must be scheduled at a time and location so as to be free of interruptions from telephone calls and other office matters.

Attendance at non-accredited in-house programs can be claimed as self-study credits. A maximum of 3 self-study credit hours (of the 15 credit hours required yearly) can be applied toward each MCLE compliance year.

Application for Approval
This application is for CLE sponsors and for attorneys seeking credit for out-of-state CLE activity.

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated February 2014Top of Page

UTAH

Utah State Board of CLE
Utah Law & Justice Center
645 South 200 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
801-531-9077
801-531-0660 (Fax)
mcle@utahbar.org

Yes.  Approval required.  Must apply within sixty days prior to or following the seminar.

Required:  The seminar must be made available to lawyers throughout the state unless the sponsor demonstrates to the satisfaction of the Board that there is good reason to limit availability. The seminar must be open to official observers.

Applications are available for downloading here.

Application for Accreditation (Form 3)
Attorney Individual Application (Form 4)

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated February 2014Top of Page

VERMONT

Board of Continuing Legal Education
Suite 2
2418 Airport Road
Barre, VT 05641
802-828-3281
802-828-1695 (Fax)
jud-attylicensing@state.vt.us

Yes.  Prior approval required.

Required:  Minimum attendance of 3 lawyers.

Application for Approval

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated October 2010Top of Page

VIRGINIA

Continuing Legal Education Board
Virginia State Bar
Suite 1500
707 East Main Street
Richmond, VA 23219-2800
804-775-0577
804-775-0544 (Fax)
mcle@vsb.org

Yes.  Approval required.

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Required: Must have the primary objective of increasing an attendee's professional competence and skills as an attorney; must accurately report the audience for each program, including the number of firm attorneys, attorney clients or potential clients, and non-attorneys. See MCLE Opinion 18.

Application for MCLE Course Approval (Law Firm Application - Form 4) available for downloading here.

Attorney Individual Application Form

Updated January 2014Top of Page

WASHINGTON

Washington MCLE Board
Washington State Bar Ass'n
Suite 600
1325 Fourth Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101-2539
800-945-9722
206-443-9722
206-727-8313 (Fax)

Kathy Todd
MCLE Manager/Board Executive Secretary
kathyt@wsba.org

Yes. Approval required. Must apply at least 14 days prior to course. Failure to do so may result in a late fee or denial of accreditation or both.

Required: Private law firms, corporate legal departments, and government entities must register as the sponsor of a course if they present the course or contract with an outside CLE provider to present it. The course must be open to audit by the MCLE Board or its designees at no charge.

If the course is sponsored by a private law firm, no client, former client, or prospective client of the firm may directly or indirectly pay for or underwrite the course, in whole or in part.

Application for Approval

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated August 2010Top of Page

WEST VIRGINIA

West Virginia CLE Commission
West Virginia State Bar
2000 Deitrick Boulevard
Charleston, WV 25311-1231
866-989-8227 (WV Toll Free)
304-553-7220
304-558-2467 (Fax)

Hope Gresham
MCLE Coordinator
304-553-7238
greshamh@wvbar.org

 

Yes. Prior approval required. Must apply at least 30 days before seminar. Approved on a course-by-course basis rather than an accredited-provider basis.

Required: Written outline or written materials must be submitted with application and distributed at course; open to official observers; scheduled at a time and location so as tcourses shall be submitted for approval on a course-by-course basiso be free of interruptions from telephone calls and other office matters.

Maximum credits earned by in-house programs, video, audio, correspondence, telephone seminars, and computer-based training not to exceed half of MCLE requirements (12 of the 24 hours required every 2 years).

Provider Application for Approval

Attorney Application for Individual Course Approval Attorneys must login to view and fill out form.

50 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated February 2014Top of Page

WISCONSIN

Board of Bar Examiners
Supreme Court of Wisconsin
Suite 715
110 East Main Street
PO Box 2748
Madison, WI 53701-2748
608-266-9760
608-266-1196 (Fax) (10-page limit)

Yes. Approval required.

Required: Attended by at least 2 attendees and moderator. No CLE activity offered in conjunction with a meal will be approved unless the meal portion is allocated no less than 30 minutes and the education portion occupies a separate period lasting at least 50 minutes. Only under unusual circumstances will credit in excess of 1 hour be extended to a CLE activity offered in conjunction with a meal.

Application for Approval

50 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated January 2014Top of Page

WYOMING

Wyoming State Board of CLE
Wyoming State Bar
PO Box 109
Cheyenne, WY 82003-0109
307-632-9061
307-632-3737 (Fax)


Marie Ellis, CLE Director
mellis@wyomingbar.org

Yes. Approval required. Must apply at least 30 days prior to seminar.

Application for Approval

Wyoming attorneys are required to submit Applications for CLE Credit for each program they attend.

Attorney Application for CLE Credit

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated October 2011Top of Page

 

 

Return to page 1Top of Page

* In most states, introductions, welcoming remarks, breaks, and meal time are not included; some states permit credit or partial credit for a program held during a meal if the program is substantive in nature.

** In Oregon, breaks exceeding 15 minutes per 3 hours of instruction are excluded in computed credit hours.

About Marilyn | Workshops | Coaching | Clients | Testimonials
FAQs | Working with Marilyn | Resources | Contact Marilyn | Home

Toll Free: 800-345-6470 / Email: info@lawwriting.com