legal writing, CLE training; workshops in-house seminars, coaching

Can You Receive CLE Credit for an In-House Legal Writing Seminar? 

In many states, MCLE rules allow participants to receive CLE credit for an in-house legal writing seminar.  This chart sets out each state's rules, with contact information and links for each state's MCLE web site. If you have any questions, contact your state's MCLE office.

States from A-M, below | States from N-Z, page 2.

AL | AK | AZ | AR | CA | CO | CT | DE | DC | FL | GA | HI | ID
IL | IN | IA | KS | KY | LA | ME | MD | MA | MI | MN | MS | MO | MT

 

State MCLE Contact Info

Credit for In-House Seminar? / Provisions

ALABAMA

MCLE Commission
Alabama State Bar
415 Dexter Avenue
Montgomery, AL 36104

PO Box 671
Montgomery, AL 36101
800-354-6154
334-269-1515
334-261-6310 (Fax)
cle@alabar.org

Yes. Approval required.  Application must be sumitted at least 30 days in advance.

Required: At least half the instruction must be provided by outside faculty.

Application for Approval

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated April 2015Top of Page

ALASKA

Alaska Bar Association
PO Box 100279
Anchorage, AK 99510-0279
907-272-7469
907-272-2932 (Fax)

Mary Ellen Ashton
MCLE Administrator
ashtonm@alaskabar.org

 

Yes. Approval required.

CLE courses held in or broadcast from other states and approved for CLE credit in other states are deemed approved for credit for Alaska Bar members without any application process.

Application for Approval can be downloaded at State Bar MCLE page (Uniform Application for Accreditation of CLE)

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated April 2015Top of Page

ARIZONA

State Bar of Arizona MCLE Dept.
Suite 100
4201 North 24th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85016-6266
602-340-7239
866-482-9227
602-271-4930 (Fax)
mcle@staff.azbar.org

 

Yes.

Arizona does not approve or accredit programs for MCLE, but certificates of attendance should be provided for participants. Participants should keep certificates in case of audit.

To qualify as a CLE activity, an in-house program must have at least 5 attorneys present, including the instructor.

 

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated February 2014Top of Page

ARKANSAS

Arkansas CLE Board
Suite 110
2100 Riverfront Drive
Little Rock, AR 72202
501-374-1855
501-374-1853 (Fax)

Yes. For pre-approval, application should be sent 45 days in advance. In-house program must be approved 30 days before the scheduled event.

Required: For an in-house program at a private law firm, a minimum of 3 “out-of-firm” attorneys must be allowed to attend. The firm may set reasonable limits on the total number of “out-of-firm” attendees. Any “out-of-firm” attorney who attends may be responsible for a proportionate share of the cost.

Maximum of 6 CLE credit hours during any reporting period.

Application for Approval

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated January 2014Top of Page

CALIFORNIA

MCLE Program
The State Bar of California
180 Howard Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
415-538-2155
888-800-3400
415-538-2180 (Fax)
MCLE@calbar.ca.gov

Yes.  Approval required. Approval can be obtained before or after the program.

Required: Must be scheduled so that participants are free of interruptions; a State Bar MCLE Activity auditor must be permitted to attend or otherwise audit at no cost.

For CLE taken outside of California and approved by an Approved Jurisdiction, attorneys can claim credit to the same extent as in the approving jurisdiction. (If the approving jurisdiction uses a 50-minute hour, California attorneys can do likewise.) LawWriting Workshops are approved by New York, an Approved Jurisdiction, so California credit is available for programs attended outside California. No application is required.

Single Activity Provider Approval Form

Attorney Credit Request

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated April 2015

COLORADO

Board of CLE
Ralph L. Carr Judicial Center
Colorado Supreme Court
Suite 510
1300 Broadway
Denver, CO 80203
303-928-7771
cleinfo@csc.state.co.us

 

Yes. Approval required. Application must be filed at least 15 days before program. Upon a showing of good cause, the Board may accredit a program even if this requirement is not met.

Required: Open to outsiders; outside publicity. These requirements do not apply to professional associations or to activities sponsored by an agency for the benefit of employees of a governmental unit.

Application for Approval

50 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated February 2014Top of Page

CONNECTICUT

 

No Mandatory CLE.

Updated January 2014Top of Page

DELAWARE

Commission on CLE of the
Supreme Ct of Delaware
Carvel State Office Building
11th Floor
820 North French Street
Wilmington, DE 19801-3545
302-577-7040
302-577-7037 (Fax)
CLE@state.de.us

Yes.  Approval required. Application may be submitted before or after presentation of the program.

An “in-house program” is a CLE activity sponsored by a law firm, corporation, governmental agency, or similar entity for the education of its employees or members.

May earn up 12 credit hours every two years (half the minimum requirement) through in-house programs.

Application for Approval (Form 4)

Application for Accreditation of an In-House Program (Form 10)

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated July 2012Top of Page

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

 

No Mandatory CLE.

Within 12 months after admission to the D.C. Bar, new admittees must complete the Mandatory District of Columbia Course on the D.C. Rules of Professional Conduct and District of Columbia Practice.

For more information, call 202-626-1315 or 1-877-33-DCBAR, ext. 315.

Updated February 2014Top of Page

FLORIDA

Legal Specialization & Education Department
The Florida Bar
651 East Jefferson Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-2300
850-561-5842
850-561-9421 (Fax)
clemail@flabar.org

Yes. Prior approval required. Application for accreditation should be received at least 30 days before the seminar ($75 fee for late applications).

An attorney's application for credit must be submitted at least 60 days prior to the attorney’s Continuing Legal Education Requirement (CLER) reporting deadline.

The Florida Bar may accept CLE credits granted by another state bar provided the CLE activity meets accreditation criteria. Courses approved by other state bars are “generally acceptable” to meet Florida requirements.

50 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Attorney Application for Course Attendance Credit

CLE Application for Accreditation

Updated April 2015

GEORGIA

Commission on Continuing
Lawyer Competency

State Bar of Georgia
CLE Department
Suite 100
104 Marietta Street, NW
Atlanta, GA 30303
800-334-6865
404-527-8710
404-527-8717 (Fax)


Yes. Prior approval recommended. Application should be submitted at least 30 days, and preferably longer, before seminar. The CCLC may grant retroactive approval.

Required: Open to official observers; scheduled at a time and location so as to be free of interruptions from telephone calls and other office matters; experienced attorneys must substantially contribute to the activity's development and presentation.

Maximum of 6 hours (of the 12 hours required yearly) for any combination of approved in-house/self-study activities (“self-study” includes distance/online learning). Up to 6 hours may be carried forward to the next calendar year or carried back to the previous year.

Guests who attend an in-house program will receive regular credit that does not count toward the 6 hour in-house/self-study annual limit.

Application for Approval of an In-House CLE Activity

Attorney Application for Approval of a CLE Activity

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated July 2012Top of Page

HAWAII

Hawaii State Board of CLE
Hawaii State Bar Assoc.
Suite 1000
1100 Alakea Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
808-537-1868
808-521-7936 (Fax)

Debbie Blanton
MCLE Administrator
808-792-7348
dblanton@hsba.org

Yes. Prior approval required. The application must be received at least 30 days prior to the course. An application that is not timely submitted may at the Board's discretion be accepted for review subject to a $50 late fee.

An attorney application must be received no more than 30 days after the course is completed. An application that is not timely submitted may at the Board's discretion be accepted for review subject to a $50 late fee.

Required: The course may be audited free of charge by a neutral member of the CLE Board or its designee.

For CLE taken outside of Hawaii and approved by an Approved Jurisdiction, attorneys can claim credit to the same extent as in the approving jurisdiction. (If the approving jurisdiction uses a 50-minute hour, Hawaii attorneys can do likewise.) LawWriting Workshops are approved by New York, an Approved Jurisdiction, so Hawaii credit is available for programs attended outside Hawaii. No application is required.

Provider Application Form

Attorney Application Form

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated April 2015

IDAHO

Idaho State Bar
PO Box 895
Boise, ID 83701-0895
208-334-4500
208-334-2764 (Fax)

Annette Strauser
Licensing, MCLE and IT Administrator
astrauser@isb.idaho.gov

Yes. Approval required. An application filed more than 30 days after the CLE activity is completed may be rejected as untimely.

Application for Approval

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated April 2015Top of Page

ILLINOIS

MCLE Board of the
Supreme Court of Illinois
Suite 900
200 West Madision Street
Chicago, IL 60606-3415
312-924-2420
mcle@mcleboard.org

 

Attorney and provider forms and payments should be sent to:

(Mailing via USPS)
MCLE Board of the Illinois Supreme Court
P.O. Box 3484
Springfield, IL 62708-3484

(All other mailing methods–UPS, FedEx, etc.)
MCLE Board
c/o INB Processing Center
307 E. Jackson
Springfield, IL 62701

 


Yes. Approval required. For prior determination of accreditation, application should be filed at least 30 days prior to the program. Prior approval is not required. Approval must be sought no more than 60 days after the program date. This deadline is not waived for any reason. There is a $25.00 late fee for applications submitted on or after the program date.

Required:  At least 5 attorney participants (they need not be associated with the same firm, corporation or governmental agency); scheduled at a time and location so as to be free of interruptions from telephone calls and other office matters; open to observation by members of the Board or their designates. Experienced attorneys must contribute to the teaching and efforts should be made to achieve a balance of in-house and outside instructors.

In-house providers may choose to (1) submit individual course applications for accreditation of each course presentation, or (2) apply to become an In-House Accredited CLE Provider whose courses are presumptively approved.

Courses are accredited through the Provider Course Accreditation Management ("PCAM") system.

Individual attorneys can apply online to claim Illinois CLE credit for an out-of-state course. More information is here. To apply and pay the required fee, go to the “Report Compliance” section of the MCLE Board website.

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated January 2014

INDIANA

Indiana Commission for CLE
Suite 950
30 South Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204-3564
317-232-1943
317-233-1442 (Fax)
cle@courts.in.gov

Yes.  Approval required. Applications must be received at least 30 days prior to the program.

Required:  Must be taught by a judge, attorney or sponsor of legal education who is not a member, employee or acting of counsel of organization or law firm. The Commission and its Executive Director or designated appointee must be able to audit the course for regulation purposes.

Governmental and academic attorneys may receive unlimited in-house credits. Nongovernmental and non-academic attorneys may receive through in-house means up to 3 hours per 3-year educational period (of the 36 required hours).

Application for Approval

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated April 2015Top of Page

IOWA

Commission on CLE
Judicial Branch Building
1111 East Court Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50319
515-725-8029
cle@iowacourts.gov

Yes.  Approval required.  Must apply 60 days before seminar or within 30 days after it.

Approval determined on a case-by-case basis.

Lawyers and sponsors with active account pages on the Office of Professional Regulation (OPR) web pages should submit applications for accreditation online using their lawyer or sponsor account pages.

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated January 2014Top of Page

KANSAS

Kansas CLE Commission
Suite 202
400 South Kansas Avenue
Topeka, KS 66603
785-357-6510
cleadmin@kscle.org

Yes. Approval required. Applications must be received 30 days before seminar.

Required: Open to official observers; thorough written materials must be available to participants at or before the date of the seminar; scheduled at a time and location so as to be free of interruptions from telephone calls and other office matters. The law firm, corporation, or government entity must assume responsibility for accreditation.

Maximum of 5 credit hours per reporting year (of 12 required hours).

Application for Approval

50 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated June 2011

KENTUCKY

Kentucky CLE Commission
Kentucky Bar Association
514 West Main Street
Frankfort, KY 40601-1812
502-564-3795, ext. 228
502-564-3225 (Fax)

Clifford Timberlake Accreditation Coordinator
ctimberlake@kybar.org

Yes. Prior approval required. Must apply at least 30 days before seminar.

Required: At least half the instruction hours must be provide by outside faculty; Commission designee must be permitted to monitor at no cost.

Application for Approval

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated April 2015

LOUISIANA

Committee on MCLE
Suite 355
2800 Veterans Memorial Blvd.
Metairie, LA 70002
800-518-1518
504-828-1414
504-828-1416 (Fax)
mcle@lascmcle.org

Yes, but only for government agency programs. Must apply at least 45 days before seminar. Retroactive approval may be granted, at the Committee's discretion, upon a showing of good cause.

No credit will be given for activities sponsored by law firms or corporate law departments for the sole or principal benefit of their own members or employees.

To apply for approval of an in-state seminar, a sponsor must first be approved as a provider of CLE in Louisiana.

Application for Approval

Member Application for Credit for Out-of-State CLE

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated October 2010Top of Page

MAINE

Board of Overseers of the Bar
97 Winthrop Street
PO Box 527
Augusta, ME 04332-0527
207-623-1121
207-623-4175 (Fax)
cle@mebaroverseers.org

Yes. Approval required. Sponsor must apply at least 30 days before the seminar. Attendee may apply at any time up to and including the annual report filing deadline.

Required: Experienced lawyers will contribute to the development or teaching of the course. The course must be scheduled at a time and location free of interruption.

In-office CLE are courses offered by law firms, either individually or jointly with other law firms, by corporate legal departments, or by similar entities employing attorneys, if such courses are provided primarily for the education of the sponsor's members or employees.

In-office credit is considered self-study credit and is capped at 5.5 CLE hours each year (of the 11 hours required annually).

Credit hours for courses approved by another mandatory CLE state and certified by that state’s CLE authority will be accepted for identical credit in Maine upon the Board’s receipt of evidence of such certification.

Application for Approval

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated April 2015Top of Page

MARYLAND

 

No Mandatory CLE.

There is a mandatory Professionalism Course for Newly Admitted Attorneys. The course is conducted twice a year by the Maryland Professionalism Center. mdprofessionalism@mdcourts.gov

Maryland Professionalism Center, Inc.
2011-D Commerce Park Drive
Annapolis, Maryland 21401
410-260-3762
410-260-3560 (Fax)

Updated January 2014Top of Page

MASSACHUSETTS

 

No Mandatory CLE.

Updated January 2014Top of Page

MICHIGAN

 

No Mandatory CLE.

Updated January 2014Top of Page

MINNESOTA

Minnesota State Board of CLE
Suite 950
180 East 5th Street
St. Paul, MN 55101
651-297-7100
651-296-5866 (Fax)
oasis@mbcle.state.mn.us

 

Yes. Approval required.

Required: 25% of the hours must be taught by outside faculty; outside publicity; open to 25% outside participation. These requirements do not apply if a seminar is presented by an “established continuing legal education course sponsor” (such as LawWriting.com)

Application for Approval

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated April 2015Top of Page

MISSISSIPPI

Mississippi Commission on CLE
PO Box 369
Jackson, MS 39205-0369

450 High Street
Jackson, MS 39201
601-576-4622
601-576-4733 (Fax)

Tracy Graves, Administrator
tgraves@courts.ms.gov

 

 

Yes. Approval required. Must apply at least 45 days prior to the seminar.

Required: Open to outsiders; outside publicity. These requirements do not apply to programs offered by a governmental department or agency for its employees. Full-time employees of governmental departments or agencies may earn up to 12 credit hours a year from in-house programs; part-time employees up to 6 credit hours a year.

Application for Approval

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated April 2015Top of Page

MISSOURI

MCLE Department
The Missouri Bar
326 Monroe Street
PO Box 2355
Jefferson City, MO 65102-2355
573-638-2233
573-635-2811 (Fax)
mcle@mobar.org

Yes.  Approval required.  Must apply at least 60 days before program.

In-house programs may be accredited on the same basis as programs by other sponsors.

Application for Accreditation

If a sponsor has not obtained accreditation of a program and doesn't have an application pending, an individual attorney may obtain accreditation by filing an Attorney Application for Accreditation

The attorney should submit the application and receive approval prior to listing the program on the attorney's Annual Report (due by July 31) and, preferably, prior to attending the program.

If the attorney doesn't apply before the occurrence of the program, the attorney must apply within 30 days after completion of the program.

The MCLE Department indicates that it is preferable that programs be accredited in advance of attendance.

50 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated January 2014 Top of Page

MONTANA

Montana Commission of CLE
The State Bar of Montana
7 West 6th Avenue
P.O. Box 577
Helena, MT 59624
406-442-7660
406-442-7763 (Fax)
cle@montanabar.org

 

Yes.  Approval required. Must apply before seminar. Applicant must furnish seminar schedule and curriculum materials.

If a Montana attorney attends a seminar approved for CLE credit in the state in which it is held, there is no need to apply for accreditation in Montana. The Montana Commission of CLE will honor the approval given by the other CLE jurisdiction. To obtain credit, submit documentation of the other state's approval to cle@montanabar.org.

Required: Client-related matters and case studies must not be part of credit hours sought; course must be attended by 5 or more lawyers, including instructor; course must be scheduled at a time and location free of interruption from phone calls and other office matters; course must be open to attendance by Commission member or designee.

In-house credits are classified as “Other” credits; they are limited to 5 credit hours per year and may not be carried forward.

Application for Approval

60 min. = 1 Credit Hour*

Updated April 2015

 

Continue to page 2Top of Page

* In most states, introductions, welcoming remarks, breaks, and meal time are not included; some states permit credit or partial credit for a program held during a meal if the program is substantive in nature.

** In Oregon, breaks exceeding 15 minutes per 3 hours of instruction are excluded in computed credit hours.

About Marilyn | Workshops | Coaching | Clients | Testimonials
FAQs | Working with Marilyn | Resources | Contact Marilyn | Home

Toll Free: 800-345-6470 / Email: info@lawwriting.com